Gluten Free! That’s not me!

Most recently I have entered into the gluten free (GF) baking arena.  My fil has been gf for well over a year and he misses sandwiches and pecan tarts.  My nephew, has been gf off and on…now permanently on for a few years…he too misses sandwiches.  I am saddened by this.

I have to admit , I bought a cookbook (NOTE: admitting I bought a cookbook is likened to me admitting I breathe…it’s inevitable).  It’s a good cookbook (Easy Gluten Free Baking by Elizabeth Barbone)for gf simply for the fact that the food in it is real food.  Recipes for breads, cookies, cakes, pies are in this book….usually the foods gfers probably miss the most.  Personally, I pick up most of these gf  cookbooks and there are recipes for…are you ready…greek salad.

I mean come on.

Again, I will state I am not gf and can not comment on what gfers miss the most…but in my mind, they miss the simple foods.  They don’t miss fancy 10 ingredient meals they never heard of.  Don’t get me wrong, options are good having restrictive meal options…I can only imagine.  But when all you want is a peanut butter (thankfully no nut issues in the fam!) you don’t want a recipe for an artisinal bread you have never heard of.

I digress….I bought a good, in my mind, gf cookbook.  The author is not gf, but has food allergies.  She tested each recipe side by side with its gluten counterpart, until she was satisfied.  She also trained at The Culinary Institute of America…I bought her gf book and not theirs.

I have baked three things from the book…easy sandwich bread, banana bread and…are you ready for this…a gf equivalent to Premium Plus Saltine crackers! I am going to talk about the sandwich bread tonight.

First off, I don’t bake bread.  It’s not that I can’t…I’m not a bad baker, and I will try recipes (have not mastered puff pastry, but will triumph one day). I don’t have a bread machine…in short we don’t have alot of bread in the house.  It lived up to it’s name “easy”.  Five minutes gathering measuring ingredients, five minutes in the mixer, proof for an hour (this is where I made a mistake), and an hour in the oven.  My mistake?  I should not have covered the bread with a towel, otherwise it would have risen more during baking.

Here is a picture (stolen from my sil blog http://familyjourneytorealfood.blogspot.com/)

The test was when I ate it…I ate another piece after.  It was good, for homemade bread.  I was disappointed at first expecting bread like store bought bread, before I remembered that wasn’t what I making.  I brought it to my sil and everyone liked it.  Success…unless they really were just being polite.  I hope not.

Next up…crackers and banana bread!

1 Comment »

  1. Keri Said:

    I love your blog, great job! I really like the design. You are an amazing gf baker, everything has been really good. Connor has loved everything and makes eating gf a lot easier having similar foods to what others are eating.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

